Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Cooking with Peanuts


Did you know that March is National Peanut Month? Neither did we, but we thought we'd seize the opportunity to present recipes featuring this versatile ingredient.

Growing up, we learned to love peanuts because they gave us creamy or crunchy peanut butter for our PB&J sandwiches (usually with the crusts cut off). Sometimes we'd have a handful of nuts as a snack. These days, peanuts are featured in Thai sauces and noodle dishes and they're still a welcome bar snack, especially when you get to crush the shell and toss it on the floor.

Peanuts are actually legumes, so they're closer relatives of beans than other nuts. And, if you're not allergic, they're very healthy because they're a great source of protein, niacin, the B-Vitamins and antioxidants. As you may have learned in history class, George Washington Carver came up with over 300 different uses for the peanut (even though he didn't create peanut butter- the Aztecs came up with it a long, long time ago). So, get creative with peanuts and have a blast!

To help you assemble recipes elevating the humble peanut, we fired up the FoodPair search engine and found a handful of great recipes from across the Web.


Whole-Wheat Peanut Butter Waffles
Start the day off right with peanut waffles.
Ingredients: egg, sugar, peanut butter, baking powder, vegetable oil, milk, kosher salt, whole wheat flour, cooking spray



Boiled Peanuts
Peanuts are great for a healthy & delicious snack.
Ingredients: water, kosher salt, raw peanut, smoked paprika


Soba Noodle Salad
This Japanese salad is a great combo of sweet and tangy.
Ingredients: basil, garlic, jalapeno, lime, mango, mint, peanut, sugar, red bell pepper, soba noodles, salt, sesame oil, lime juice, rice vinegar, lime zest


Pad Thai
What's not to love about this delicious Thai classic?
Ingredients: cilantro, lime, shrimp, egg, scallion, shallot, peanut, sugar, bean sprouts, vegetable oil, oyster sauce, red chile pepper, fish sauce, rice noodles


Deluxe Peanut Butter Sandwiches
It's about time to elevate the classic PB&J.
Ingredients in this recipe: banana, peanut butter, orange marmalade, whole wheat bread


Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge Sundae
Peanuts add crunch and complexity to desserts.
Ingredients: chocolate, cream, peanut, peanut butter, light corn syrup, vanilla ice cream



Let's get cooking!

Any other favorite ingredients or dishes you'd like us to highlight? Post them in the comments section or on our Facebook page! And while you're at it, "Like" us on Facebook to get helpful updates in your news feed.

22 comments:

  1. fangyanting20150925
    north face outlet, http://www.thenorthface.me/
    louis vuitton handbags, http://www.louisvuittonhandbagsoutlet.co.uk/
    the north face clearance, http://www.thenorthfaceclearances.us.com/
    designer handbags, http://www.designerhandbags.us.com/
    coach outlet online, http://www.coachoutletonline-store.us.com/
    michael kors handbags, http://www.michaelkorshandbagsoutletstore.us.com/
    futbol baratas, http://www.futbol-baratas.com/
    true religion jeans, http://www.truereligionjeansoutlets.us.com/
    thomas sabo uk, http://www.thomassabos.co.uk/
    adidas wings, http://www.adidaswings.net/
    tiffany jewellery, http://www.tiffanyjewelleryoutlets.co.uk/
    lacoste polo shirts, http://www.lacostepoloshirts.cc/
    christian louboutin uk, http://www.christianlouboutinoutlet.org.uk/
    gucci handbags, http://www.guccihandbags-outlet.co.uk/
    karen millen dresses, http://www.karenmillendressesoutlets.co.uk/
    hermes outlet, http://www.hermesoutletstore.us.com/
    true religion jeans, http://www.truereligionjeansoutlet.com/
    cheap nfl jerseys, http://www.cheap-nfljersey.us.com/
    air jordan 13, http://www.airjordan13s.com/
    canada goose outlet, http://www.canadagoose.us.org/
    kobe 9, http://www.kobe9elite.us.com/
    nike free uk, http://www.nikefreerunning.org.uk/
    true religion jeans, http://www.truereligionjeanscanada.com/
    oakley sunglasses, http://www.wholesaleoakleysunglasses.us.com/
    true religion outlet, http://www.truereligionoutletstore.us.com/
    air jordan shoes, http://www.airjordanshoes.us.org/
    ray ban sunglasses, http://www.rayban-sunglassess.us.com/
    dvdv

    ReplyDelete
  2. trang tri noi that của rất nhiều căn hộ là phương pháp không tồi trong những ngày cuối năm. phát minh làm đẹp trên tường cho phép người thiết kế diện tích sống mới mà không cần biến tấu đồ trang trí trong nhà đắt tiền như ghe sofa go , giuong ngu , tu phong ngu . các giải pháp đơn sơ và nhanh chóng như gia cong sat , gia cong inox lý tưởng cho các người bận rộn. các sáng chế tô điểm noi that phong khach dep , noi that phong ngu sáng chế và cách điệu, giúp tái chế các gì bạn có ở nhà hoặc sử dụng vật liệu rẻ tiền và các bí quyết thông minh cho phòng trang trí. tích hợp đáng choáng ngợp của những vật liệu do go nha bep hay sat my thuat sẽ là sự tái hợp choáng ngợp của cá tính và hàng thủ công sẽ biến bức tường thành bức tranh tinh xảo và đổi thay thiết kế nội thất của bạn mà không mất quá nhiều thời gian

    ReplyDelete
  3. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete