Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Make a Perfect Omelet with These Simple Steps


It's easy to make the perfect omelet with these simple tips and techniques.

1. Find the right pan.

For two or three egg omelets, a six-inch frying pan is the ideal size.

Pans with a nice non-stick coating are great for omelets because they prevent sticking and help make the outside of the omelet smooth.

2. Mix your ingredients.

In a bowl, mix two or three eggs with a pinch of salt and a pinch of pepper. Add splash or two of milk to increase the creaminess and fluffiness of your omelet.

Whisk the ingredients together with a fork or whisk. The more you whisk, the fluffier the omelet will be.

If you get any small pieces of shell in the bowl with the eggs, use half of a shell to scoop it out. Fishing shell out with your fingers is a lot harder and messier than it looks.

3. Set the stove to medium heat and add butter or cooking spray.

Medium heat is perfect for eggs because cooking them too quickly will make the outside of the omelet too crispy and hard. If using butter, make sure to coat the entire bottom of the pan with melted butter. Wait until the butter begins foaming to add the eggs.

4. Add extra ingredients and cheese at the right time.

For all ingredients besides cheese, such as mushrooms, tomatoes and bacon, we prefer to add them to the pan right after the butter to give them a chance to warm up. You can mix them with the eggs and they will become part of the omelet as opposed to the filling.

For cheese, we prefer to add it towards the end of the cooking process when the omelet is nearly done. Even if the cheese is not fully melted when the egg is cooked, it will continue to melt once the omelet is folded.

5. Add the eggs to the warm pan and cook them slowly.

As the eggs begin to cook, use a spatula to push the slightly cooked egg from the outer edge of the pan toward the center. This allows the runny, uncooked egg on top to spread out and cook in open skillet space.

6. It’s time for the flip or fold.

Once the edges begin to cook through and wilt slightly, run your spatula around the sides of the omelet to make sure nothing is stuck to the pan. At this point, you have a choice-- go for the extra style points with a full flip in the air, or play it safe by letting the eggs cook and proceeding directly to the fold.

7. Fold the omelet in thirds.

The best looking omelets have a tri-fold. To accomplish this, fold one-third of the outer edge of the cooked egg towards the middle of the pan. Next, slide the unfolded portion onto a plate and then flip the folded two-thirds onto the plate, creating a tri-fold.

Don’t worry, if that sounds too complicated, you can fold the omelet in half in the pan or onto the plate.


Ok, now we’re ready to eat! Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below.

14 comments:

  1. fangyanting20150925
    mbt shoes, http://www.mbtshoesoutlet.us.com/
    hogan, http://www.scarpehogan-outlet.it/
    soccer jerseys, http://www.soccerjerseys.us.com/
    cheap jordans, http://www.cheapjordans.us.org/
    kobe shoes, http://www.kobeshoes.us/
    christian louboutin, http://www.scarpelouboutin.it/
    coach outlet, http://www.coachoutletus.us/
    coach handbags, http://www.coachhandbagsoutletonline.us.com/
    oakley, http://www.occhialioakleyoutlets.it/
    herve leger, http://www.herveleger.us.com/
    calvin klein underwear, http://www.calvinklein.in.net/
    ralph lauren, http://www.poloralphlaurenoutlet.it/
    louis vuitton outlet, http://www.louisvuittonoutletstore.name/
    michael kors factory outlet, http://www.michaelkorsfactoryoutlet.us.org/
    montblanc pens, http://www.montblanc-pens.com.co/
    tory burch outlet, http://www.toryburch.in.net/
    michael kors outlet store, http://www.michaelkorsoutlet-store.us.com/
    ray ban sunglasses, http://www.ray-bansunglassess.in.net/
    swarovski crystal, http://www.swarovskicrystals.co.uk/
    oakley outlet, http://www.oakleyoutlet.in.net/
    the north face outlet, http://www.northface-outlet.cc/
    wedding dresses, http://www.weddingdressesoutlet.co.uk/
    michael kors outlet, http://www.michaelkors-outlets.us.com/
    roshe run, http://www.rosherunshoessale.com/
    air max 2014, http://www.airmax2014.net/
    nike air max uk, http://www.nikeairmaxshoes.org.uk/
    michael kors outlet, http://www.michaelkorsoutletonlinestores.us.com/
    dv

    ReplyDelete
  2. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. Our Tennessee Titan Flag is constructed of polyester, measures 3x5 feet, and has two plastic D-rings for attaching to our 6' aluminum flagpole or tailgate pole. The perimeter of our Tennessee Titan Flag is double stitched and the Tennessee Titan team logos are dye sublimated into the flag so they won't peel. Due to its large size, these flags are also perfect to hang on any wall in your game room, sports room, or office.
    nfl house flags
    nfl flags wholesalebuy Jacksonville Jaguars american flag
    Kansas City Chiefs american flagsnfl House Divided Flags
    Sports flags and banners
    Sports Flags 3x5
    House Divided Flags

    ReplyDelete