Monday, August 23, 2010

Cooking with Fish: it's easier than you think!


Fish is delicious, delicate and healthy, but we never seem to eat enough of it at home. Why? Because most people assume it's difficult to cook fish properly.

Below, we've collected a number of easy methods for cooking fish. Now all you have to do is buy a little of your favorite fish at the market and give it a whirl. FoodPair has tons of easy recipes for you to try!

1. Grilling fish

Summer is still upon us, so why not grill some fish alongside those burgers and dogs? First, pick a fattier fish like tuna, salmon or grouper, they all grill more easily than flakier fish. Second, make sure your grill surface is clean and lubricated with oil. Third, grill the fish, but make sure not to move it too early or too often. Once the fish is cooked, it will release from the grill without sticking. Don't cover the grill while the fish is cooking or it will absorb too much of the smoke.

There are some great tools for grilling fish more easily: place the fish on an oiled sheet of tin foil or use a grill basket.

2. Steaming fish

With the help of a bamboo steamer, suspend the fish over a pot of simmering, not rapidly boiling, water or stock. You can marinate the fish beforehand and also add ingredients like lemon and ginger to the stock to flavor the fish.

3. Baking fish

While roasting is done at temperatures higher than 400 degrees and may dry out fish, baking is done at lower temperatures and helps fish maintain its moisture. Simply season the fish with any number of rubs or marinates and place it in the oven in a foil-lined baking dish.

One simple method for baking salmon is to liberally slather a mixture of dijon mustard, worcestershire sauce and paprika on top of the fillets and bake for approximately 30 minutes at 350 degrees, until the salmon is flaky and tender.

4. Sauteing fish

You can easily saute fish on the stove top: simply add a couple tablespoons of olive oil to the pan and make sure it is preheated before adding the fish. Also remember not to crowd the pan. Thinner fillets need about 2-3 minutes on the first side to develop a nice crust. After that, carefully flip the fish and let it cook for another minute or two before removing it from the heat. The residual heat in the fish will complete the cooking without drying out the fish. Thicker fillets need 5-6 minutes on the first side and 4-5 minutes on the second.

5. Frying fish

When frying fish, make sure to preheat the oil to approximately 375 degrees. Simply dredge the fish in four and egg, or any type of batter you like, and cook for 4 minutes per side until the fish is golden brown.

6. Fish en papillote

This is an elegant way to cook fish. Most stores carry parchment paper (with instructions on the package), or you can use foil. Simply load the fish and any seasoning or sauces into the packet, fold carefully, and either grill or bake the packets. The packet holds in moisture, concentrates the flavor of the seasoning, and makes sure delicate fishes don't break apart. Plus, everyone will be impressed when you open the parchment and a beautiful cloud of steam is released.

Now all you have to do is choose a cooking method and search FoodPair for great recipes using your favorite types of fish.

Have additional tips or methods? Post them in the comments section!

8 comments:

  1. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete