Monday, November 28, 2011

How to Ripen Avocados and More


Many of you have asked how to ripen and store tricky fruits and vegetables like avocados, bananas and pumpkins. To find an answer we assembled a crack research team and pulled them away from their desks and into the produce aisle. After plenty of testing (and sampling the goods) we're happy to say we learned a thing or two, plus we're feeling healthier from eating all the samples!

Most people aren't sure what to do with avocados, but even though they look intimidating, they're actually similar to most other fruits. Avocados will ripen slowly if left on the kitchen counter for a couple days. To speed things up, you're going to have to use a little technology- a brown paper bag.

Paper bags are perfect for ripening fruit because they trap ethylene gas, a compound released by fruit that speeds the ripening process. The bags keep the gas close to the fruit while still allowing some ventilation. Certain fruits, especially apples, produce plenty of ethylene, so adding them to the bad with your avocados and bananas will kick the process into high gear. At that point, you'll want to check on the fruit every day to make sure ripe doesn't turn to rot. Besides avocados, paper bags are great for ripening mangoes and bananas. Keep the bag dry and out of direct sunlight for best results.

For the funky kiwi, we found that a plastic bag with some holes works best, though paper bags were fine too. Pumpkins ripen best when exposed to sunlight, so place them on a window sill for a couple days and then put them back on a shelf or in the shed.

Once your avocados and bananas are ripe, toss them in the fridge where cold temperatures slow down the ripening process. It's also important to keep them away from other fruits, which will expose them to unwanted ethylene when they're already ripe enough. We also like to put ripe fruits in places we can see them, which helps us remember to eat them.

One last tip: once you cut into an avocado or apple, the fruit exposed to the air will begin to oxidize and turn brown. To slow that down, spread on some lemon juice, lime juice or olive oil, wrap in plastic wrap and store in the fridge. Turns out, the avocado pit doesn't do any good!

All this talk of avocados made us hungry, but luckily our site has over 8,000 avocado recipes for you. With all these ripe tips, we think you're going to want to do some cooking. To help, we used the FoodPair Recipe Search Engine to find some tasty dishes featuring the avocado. Ripen away!


Green Apple Guacamole
This clever recipe pairs avocados with the apples used to ripen them.
Ingredients: Green Apple, Avocado, Cilantro, Jalapeno Pepper, Kosher Salt, Lime Juice, White Onion


Pan Seared Salmon with Avocado Remoulade
This healthy dish makes great use of avocado as a sauce.
Ingredients: Avocado, Olive Oil, Salmon, Shallot, Parsley, Salt, Black Pepper, Lime Juice, Dijon Mustard


Chipotle Chicken Panini
Here, avocados balance the tangy chipotle seasoning on the chicken.
Ingredients: Avocado, Olive Oil, Country Bread, Chipotle Seasoning, Mayo, Monterey Jack Cheese, Chicken Breast



Enjoy! If you liked this post, share it with your friends!

Any other favorite themes, ingredients or dishes you'd like us to highlight? Post them in the comments section or on our Facebook page! And while you're at it, "Like" us on Facebook for helpful updates in your news feed.

17 comments:

  1. Great article. Especially the note about the seed not actually working!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. fangyanting20150925
    mbt shoes, http://www.mbtshoesoutlet.us.com/
    hogan, http://www.scarpehogan-outlet.it/
    soccer jerseys, http://www.soccerjerseys.us.com/
    cheap jordans, http://www.cheapjordans.us.org/
    kobe shoes, http://www.kobeshoes.us/
    christian louboutin, http://www.scarpelouboutin.it/
    coach outlet, http://www.coachoutletus.us/
    coach handbags, http://www.coachhandbagsoutletonline.us.com/
    oakley, http://www.occhialioakleyoutlets.it/
    herve leger, http://www.herveleger.us.com/
    calvin klein underwear, http://www.calvinklein.in.net/
    ralph lauren, http://www.poloralphlaurenoutlet.it/
    louis vuitton outlet, http://www.louisvuittonoutletstore.name/
    michael kors factory outlet, http://www.michaelkorsfactoryoutlet.us.org/
    montblanc pens, http://www.montblanc-pens.com.co/
    tory burch outlet, http://www.toryburch.in.net/
    michael kors outlet store, http://www.michaelkorsoutlet-store.us.com/
    ray ban sunglasses, http://www.ray-bansunglassess.in.net/
    swarovski crystal, http://www.swarovskicrystals.co.uk/
    oakley outlet, http://www.oakleyoutlet.in.net/
    the north face outlet, http://www.northface-outlet.cc/
    wedding dresses, http://www.weddingdressesoutlet.co.uk/
    michael kors outlet, http://www.michaelkors-outlets.us.com/
    roshe run, http://www.rosherunshoessale.com/
    air max 2014, http://www.airmax2014.net/
    nike air max uk, http://www.nikeairmaxshoes.org.uk/
    michael kors outlet, http://www.michaelkorsoutletonlinestores.us.com/
    dvd

    ReplyDelete
  3. trang tri noi that của rất nhiều căn hộ là phương pháp không tồi trong những ngày cuối năm. phát minh làm đẹp trên tường cho phép người thiết kế diện tích sống mới mà không cần biến tấu đồ trang trí trong nhà đắt tiền như ghe sofa go , giuong ngu , tu phong ngu . các giải pháp đơn sơ và nhanh chóng như gia cong sat , gia cong inox lý tưởng cho các người bận rộn. các sáng chế tô điểm noi that phong khach dep , noi that phong ngu sáng chế và cách điệu, giúp tái chế các gì bạn có ở nhà hoặc sử dụng vật liệu rẻ tiền và các bí quyết thông minh cho phòng trang trí. tích hợp đáng choáng ngợp của những vật liệu do go nha bep hay sat my thuat sẽ là sự tái hợp choáng ngợp của cá tính và hàng thủ công sẽ biến bức tường thành bức tranh tinh xảo và đổi thay thiết kế nội thất của bạn mà không mất quá nhiều thời gian

    ReplyDelete
  4. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete